Why was text removed from my Airbnb message thread?
We remove text from messages when our system detects words or numbers that might include contact information. Communicating or paying outside Airbnb can put you at risk, so we do this to help protect you from potential online fraud.
We ask that you communicate only through the Airbnb message thread until you have a confirmed Airbnb reservation. After a reservation is accepted, the phone number, listing address, and an anonymized version of your email address are automatically shared.
By communicating and booking directly through Airbnb, you’ll have access to our secure payments platform, 24/7 customer support, the Host Guarantee, and the Host Protection Insurance program.