Secure entry to building The building - from across the street.
Zone 1/2 tube + Roof Deck in Angel
Zone 1/2 tube + Roof Deck in Angel
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our two-bedroom has everything but us when we go on vacation - so come live like a local for less than our weekly bills while we are away! It's close to transport, safe, clean and in walking distance of buzzing Zone 1 in Angel and elegant Canonbury.

The space

Come stay at our favourite place in the world - our flat in London! It's taken us a while to find such a nice place to live and we think you'll love it, too! And, we charge you much less than we pay for mortgage and bills. WHAT a bargain! We charge 50% less than the Airbnb recommended rate for our flat.

This listing is for the ENTIRE flat and all of our stuff is there, so this is reflected in the price as this is not a professional vacation rental but more of a true spirit Aibnb where it's like a friend of a friend letting you stay. And makes us a bit more choosy with who we accept - so please be verified before contacting us.

The flat...

Firstly, it's a private building and very secure in a fashionable building called City View Apartments built in the late 90s (no Victorian plumbing!).

The flat is on the first floor (which is second floor to North Americans!) up one flight of stairs from the entrance. Sadly, there is no lift/elevator, but it is a wide staircase with a bannister. We've always been able to get our
suitcases up the stairs without a problem.

It has one bedroom with a queen size bed and storage.

There is a spare room/office/2nd bedroom where we can put one or two air mattresses. We even had 5 college grads stay in there once!

The living room even has a small Juliette balcony for you to get some air and check out the happenings of Essex Road. There are two small couches, which can fit extra bodies or help you relax after a long day of sightseeing. The dining table is in the living room as well.

One of the couches folds out. There is a huge
plasma TV with freeview (about 20 channels) if you care to check out British telly when you return from sightseeing.
There's one bathroom with a sink, shower and bath and a full service kitchen - dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer!
My fave part however to come home to is the private Garden/Patio out the back if it is summer- we think you'll enjoy it, too. There's a dining area, plus some lounge chairs in the off-chance that it is sunny! Otherwise, we make a pot of tea and curl up on the couch.

The kitchen has a washing machine for your clothes we'll leave you washing powder and then you air dry your things on drying racks - the European way!

Also, there's a ROOF DECK that spans our building and the three buildings next door with great views of London in addition to the outdoor space attached to the flat!!!

Guest access

We even leave you some oatmeal or muesli for breakfast - along with N'espresso capsules for your morning coffee and plenty of tea!!

In the bathroom we leave towels and yummy Molton Brown toiletries.
We leave maps and umbrellas and plenty of extra toilet paper.

The only areas off limits are common sense things such as our personal items which are all within drawers such as our clothes, bags and papers and marked accordingly.

Interaction with guests

We are a heavily connected couple so response time to email is usually within 30 mins between 8am-11pm GMT. We also give both our mobile numbers (US and UK) for any urgent questions while you are in the flat. The nature of the rental is that we are away while you are here but we've even answered calls in the middle of the night while on our honeymoon in Hawaii when a guest couldn't work out the washing machine. We leave extra keys with a neighbor and have a handyman available if there are any issues that need local attention.

Other things to note

Our place is unique because we've been hosts for a long time (since 2010) but are not professional Airbnb listers. It is our home and we only rent it out a few weeks a year, so we treat it well and it is fully equipped. You merely cover our bills while we are away and it is not a profit making business for us. You'll probably be attracted to the very reasonable price, which we think is fair because it is our home and not a rental apartment. You'll have to look at our books, etc. But you will not find a more cozy and centrally located place in London for the price. Plus, there's a communal roof deck!!


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people $22 SGD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $111 SGD
Security Deposit $414 SGD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We've had one damage incident in 5 years that we weren't reimbursed for so we're a bit cautious and require a deposit now. We leave you a lot of stuff - so if anything goes missing, we'll charge you for it. Genuine mistakes are totally understood. We're reasonable people but we don't allow thieves and we will prosecute. So just be up front about things and we will, too!
Smoking only outdoors, no pets, no parties, please!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sean User Profile
March 2014
The reservation was canceled 31 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Blair User Profile
May 2017
One of the all-time most attentive and caring hosts. I was afraid she worried more about us than whether she was having a good time on her trip. Kathleen had everything set up for us, and took time from her vacation to make sure we were comfortable. We loved the apartment and the location really can't be beat in all of London (especially for the price.) Islington and the surrounding area are teeming with shops, bars, restaurants. There's great grocery options (Planet Organic is amazing!), so you can cook at home easily, but there's also plenty of great places to eat too. Angel and Highbury and Islington stations are about an equal walk away and you can get pretty much anywhere in the city quickly from those two tube stations. If this place is available when you're going, trust me, jump on it! you won't be disappointed.

Ken User Profile
February 2016
The host canceled this reservation 19 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Kimberly And Mark User Profile
January 2015
Kat is an excellent host. Very informative and helpful. We loved the flat and the neighborhood! It made traveling so much less stressful since we felt at home in Kat's flat. Would highly recommend and hope to book ourselves again.

Emon User Profile
December 2013
Kat"s flat was totally comfortable and satisfying. We had a very good time there. The good access to Centrla London enabled us to enjoy our shopping and sightseeing. I strongly reccomend this flat for a cozy stay in London. Thank you very much, Kat!

Eric User Profile
September 2012
Everything was as advertised. Kat was very good about offering help and proactively reaching out to ensure our stay was going well. I would stay again. Smooth stay.

Kate User Profile
September 2012
Kat was very helpful - We liked the apartment. Right on the 38 bus line so getting anywhere was easy. Great bakery about a block to the west for breakfast!

Portland, Maine, United StatesJoined in February 2010
Kathleen User ProfileKathleen is a superhost.

We're a 30 something couple who have two fabulous 1-bedroom apartments in two of the best cities on Earth- London, England and Portland, Maine, USA. I (Kat) am originally from Portland, Maine and my husband is from Norway. We met in London and work there and in the last two years added two children to our family.

We've been Airbnb hosts nearly since its launch and are "superhosts". We have really enjoyed watching the evolution of this type of homesharing and Kat was part of the original online couchsurfing community in be early 2000s.

We rent out our London flat when we go away to the US and visa versa. We have a team of friends available and a handyman in case of any problems and we're always at the end of the line, of course! We're not professional airbnb people and do it to only cover costs; we embody the spirit of the site and stay in Airbnbs as well when we travel and love the community aspect. We've been on the site and hosting since early 2010 - check out our reviews to read about us from those who have stayed!

Languages: Français, Norsk
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings