Skip to content
The front of our house--we are the door on the far left near the bay windows.Victorian style
Private room in apartment

"THE CAROUSEL ROOM" in the CASTRO--Convenient!

Connie User Profile
Connie

"THE CAROUSEL ROOM" in the CASTRO--Convenient!

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great location95% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.
Self check-inEasily check yourself in with the lockbox.
Great check-in experience95% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.

THE CAROUSEL ROOM" is a large private room in a classic home in the Castro, conveniently close to all public transportation. It features a double bed, wifi/printer & a piano! It's decorated with antiques & Victorian charm. Because of our location so close to public transportation, it's the perfect base camp to navigate the City. If you like to go out, explore & love great restaurants at all price points, we are perfect!

Amenities

Dryer
Essentials
Heating
Iron
Washer
Wifi

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 floor mattress

House Rules

Not suitable for children and infants - We have a building agreement that I will not book to folks under 18. There are fragile antiques & no play area for kids.
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

Accessibility

Step-free access to the bedroom

Availability

118 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Maja User Profile
Maja
September 2018
The location is amazing! The cats adorable and excited to see people. The room is fine, though a bit crowded with stuff. A bit over the top with communication on rules and regulations so make sure you do all normal things correctly.
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Maja, you guys were great guests, but we have had some nightmare people recently. My housemate has asked me to remind people to do basic things, like lock the front door, put the screens properly in the windows & clean your own pubic hairs out of the drain, or not destroy our kitchen. My first responsibility is to her. I wish all guests were like you two but, sadly, they're not. You guys are welcome back anytime.
September 2018
Emeline User Profile
Emeline
September 2018
Connie is a great host, who makes sure her guests have everything they need. Her place is nice and comfortable. I recommend it, especially for women travelling alone like me.
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Thank you Emeline--come back anytime1
September 2018
Lyssa User Profile
Lyssa
September 2018
Great place! The room is spacious and comfortable. I was in and out most of the day but Connie made the check in and check out processes super easy. Loved the location.
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
We liked you, too Lyssa! You are welcome back here anytime!
September 2018
Aimee User Profile
Aimee
September 2018
Flew up to see a concert at The Chapel and wanted to stay in a vintage Victorian that was close by. Connie’s place in the Castro was perfect, so close to many shops, bars, and restaurants, and in a hip neighborhood I felt safe walking in. Room was charming with a cozy bed, vintag…
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Thank you Aimee--I'm glad the show was great!
September 2018
Massimiliano User Profile
Massimiliano
August 2018
This is the right place if you are looking for an accommodation in a cool and stylish place, with lots of character. Connie, the landlady, is a nice and cool woman and I had a really good chat with her in the kitchen the day after I arrived. She is really chatty and friendly. The…
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Thank you Max--back at you! We wish every guest was as kind and considerate as you are. You are welcome back anytime. Where's the Verve?
August 2018
Mason User Profile
Mason
August 2018
Nice place.
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Thanks Mason--come back anytime.
August 2018
Yannick User Profile
Yannick
August 2018
Eventhough the location was great, we were disappointed overall. Maybe we should have read between the lines when the description said that the kitchen was "not set up" for "cooking large meals" ... Yet even when we brought take-away food to microwave or took too long in the kitc…
Connie User Profile
Response from Connie:
Wow--where to start? I would never host this guest or his friend ever again. I did not want to leave him a review because I was very upset when they finally checked out after a week of rude and intrusive behavior. I wish now that I had left a review because I would want to warn other Airbnb Hosts about them. Yannic told me that he is a teacher from France & had just finished a field trip to the East Coast with his students. I suspect that he is used to staying youth hostels with kids, because that is how they treated our home--like a youth hostel. The biggest problem is that Yannic did not read the house description posted on Airbnb or the House manual before he booked the room. I suspect that he was trying to save money but still wanted to stay in the Castro can be expensive--he saw it was the least expensive room in the Castro & ignored everything else. Every complaint he has listed here was addressed in the guidelines. For example: --He stated that he didn't know I had a housemate. I sent him a notification when he booked the room who lives here (which he also did not read, apparently) & it clearly states in the first paragraph of the house description that "The home is shared with myself & my housemate Rebecca and 2 very curious, fun-loving cats, Monty & Prudence (who are not allowed in your room;)" If he had read either the description &/or my confirmation email, he would know that. --He stated that the bed is too small for 2 people. The bed is a standard double bed size from Ikea, no different than any other double bed (the profile photo on the Airbnb website shows a photo of it--it's the first thing you see.) I've been to France, so I know they have double beds there, the same size as ours. No one has ever complained about it, and people have said it's very comfortable. There is a futon in the room they could have used as well. ---- He stated 'I was simply having breakfast and not cooking," like seriously? If I put oatmeal in a pot, make coffee, toast, pastries, spread out all over the counters, pots on the stove--that is cooking, right? It's in the description on the Airbnb website that our kitchen is not set up for cooking large meals, so when they brought in 3 bags of groceries from the store, we had no place to store it for them--that's in the house description as well. It was awkward but again, I said that "Hey, ya know, we really aren't set up for that, " but they ignored me & said "Oh we're not cooking, we're just re-heating our meals,"--"just making spaghetti but the sauce is in a jar"-- but like, that is, ya know--cooking. They did wash their dishes, but they left the rest of the kitchen a mess--crumbs & bits of food all over the counters & floors that they did not clean up, every single day. They took over the kitchen for hours 9AM to 11 each morning & 6PM to 10PM each night--so basically no one else could use it. I had to step over Roman just to make a cup of tea. He was just oblivious. My housemate eventually left to stay at her sister's until they left because of their intrusive behavior. --The House Manual on the Airbnb website clearly states: "USE THE SCREEN IN THE WINDOW—keeps pesky mosquitoes out! Just slide it to fit snugly within the window frame. " I returned home one night to find the kitchen full of smoke & all the windows wide open--not "partially open" as he has stated here-- without screens. I don't know what they burned while they "weren't cooking" in the kitchen, but yes, it was upsetting, to say the least. Common sense would tell most people, in the summertime especially, to use window screens because there are mosquitos & flies and the screens keep bugs out. I was understandably upset, and this was. But that is what they seemed to lack--common sense, and to be able to read social cues. --As for the price, our home is the least expensive listing of its kind in this popular neighborhood. But I think that is why they cooked all the time--they were doing San Francisco on a tiny budget, and as I said, should have stayed at the HI Fort Mason Youth Hostel. Fort Mason Hostel has a large communal kitchen perfect guests like these guys, with plenty of storage for large bags of groceries. And that is exactly how they treated our home--like a youth hostel. If you've ever had that experience, you know what I'm talking about. Yannic & his friend Roman broke the house rules & had absolutely no regard for me or my housemate. Most guests we have have been great, thankfully. But-- I have never hosted any 2 people who treated us with such disregard. At one point, Roman actually said to me, "Oh I could never host for Airbnb." That would be true for me as well--if I had to host guests like him every day. Fortunately, no guests I have ever had behaved like he did. On the surface, they were nice, & they did not mean to be rude--but they were. It's too bad they didn't explore the budget restaurants we recommended. Part of the San Francisco experience is going to restaurants. It's a culinary Mecca, & we have great restaurants at all price points, like Yamo on 18th has delicious chicken curry dinner for $6. When they checked out, they left a mess in the bathroom & the kitchen--it took me 3 1/2 half hours to clean up after them when they left. And no--I would not recommend Yannic Tgr or Roman to any private home in the Airbnb network. As I said, they should stay in a Hostel because that is their style & apparently their budget.
August 2018

Hosted by Connie

San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in March 2011
Connie User Profile
118 Reviews
Verified
I've lived in San Francisco all my life and love giving visitors tips about our hidden gems and fun things to do here. If you already know the ropes--no problem, but if you'd like some ideas about places to check out & things to do, don't hesitate to ask. The Castro where you w…
Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings