Tall windows with lots of natural lightHuge wall mounted TV and desk
Large Room Finnieston TRENDY area
Large Room Finnieston TRENDY area
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Huge house on a beautiful quiet street in FINNIESTON minutes from the SECC Exhibition Centre, The SSE Hydro, BBC and STV buildings, Kelvingrove Park and Museum. Excellent transport links and a hotbed of restaurants & bars all within 5 minutes walk.

The space

This property with its own main door is situated on a quiet tree lined conservation area of Glasgow minutes from the beautiful Kelvingrove Park. The building is one of only a few A listed buildings in Glasgow and therefore still has its original features with high ceilings making the place feel very spacious. The building is circa 1860.

The house is located in a quiet tree lined conservation area of Glasgow minutes from the beautiful Kelvingrove Park. The building was built in the 1850's is one of only a few A listed buildings in Glasgow. The place is huge with 7 bedrooms over 2 levels - the ground level still has its original features with high ceilings and beautiful coving making it feel very spacious. The house benefits from its own front and back door and big windows letting in a lot of natural light.

This room is furnished with a double bed along with a bed side table, built in wardrobe and a desk with chair. The is a large wall mounted flat screen TV which allows you to watch various TV channels over the Internet. Towels are regularly provided throughout your stay and a hair dryer and iron and board are always available.

There is a 47" LED TV. There are big comfy leather sofas. The living room is very large with high ceilings and big windows.

Fully equipped with everything you might need and a large american fridge freezer. The cupboards and fridge are always stocked with free milk, coffee and tea etc. You have use of all of the appliances such as the cooker, toaster, oven, microwave, washing machine etc and washing tablets are also included throughout your stay.

We have 2 cats, Suki and Singa. They roam around the house all day and night. Singa is the youngest and is extremely friendly and playful and loves meeting new people while Suki is more relaxed and enjoys more just sitting by the radiator.

Everyone in the house is very friendly and for those that live in the house on a permanent basis they are always happy and able to give advice on travel, site seeing and give recommendations on places to go for food & drink.

The Scottish Exhibition Centre (SECC) and The Hydro are a very short walk away along with the BBC and STV offices. The excellent transport links give easy access to the centre via the SECC train station or from the many buses that travel down Argyle Street.

1 minute walk to Sainsburys supermarket, 3 minutes to Roots and Fruits or 4 minutes to Tescos. There are plenty of shops in the area including a 24 hour shop a few minutes away.

Too many to list, All museums are free in Glasgow, Kelvingrove Art Museum should not be missed and its only 5 minutes away. The SECC, Hydro and Glasgow Science Centre are all very close.

There are many fine cafés, restaurants and pubs located literally 3 minutes walk away in the Finnieston area of Argyle Street. There are some wonderful places to eat here with so many options such as Japanese, Korean, Scottish, Italian, Chinese, Asian, Indian and even a well known Vegan bar.

In addition to their own room guests have full access to both the upstairs and the downstairs bathrooms, the kitchen and the living room. You are welcome to use all facilities.

Guest access

In addition to their own room guests have full access to both the upstairs and the downstairs bathrooms, the kitchen and the living room. You are welcome to use all facilities.

Interaction with guests

Joel is travelling. Housemates are friendly considerate people aged 21 to 33 years of age.

Other things to note

A bus is £6 each from the airport to the central station(train station) and then £1.60 each to SECC train station (2 stops), then its a 5 min walk.

A taxi is £22-25 if the taxi driver brings you directly here without any delay or detour.

Wireless Internet
Smoking allowed

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Please treat the house as you would your own. There is no smoking within your room or communal areas of the house however you are welcome to smoke outside the front or in the back garden.

The cat is an indoor cat so please don't let him outside. You sometimes need to be careful when leaving the house to make sure he doesn't try to sneak out unnoticed!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house


153 Reviews

Check In
Sebastian User Profile
April 2016
Joel's place is a typical bnb, cannot ask for more. The room is spacious and bed is comfortable except occasional noise. He has 8 rooms and 2 toilets. Kitchen is available for use including fridge, washing machine and utensils.

C User Profile
July 2014
Joel was extremely prompt getting back to me, flexible on arrival times, and extremely courteous. The bed was comfortable but while part of the building seems to have already been renovated, the floor and room (and bathroom) I stayed in definitely need a makeover - which I am guessing is part of Joel's plan. And the common entrance area could have done with a hoover. This does not feel like someone's home, where you have a room, but more of a lodging/student house. The room I had was described as with TV - but it is in fact only a monitor that you can play DVDs/USBs from. However, coffee, tea, milk etc were provided (and were fresh). There is a dishwasher so no piles of dirty dishes in the kitchen. Overall it was fine but very expensive for what it was - though I am guessing the price was as it was because my stay was during the commonwealth games - so for the dates, compared to all other options, the price was understandable. Could do without the towels/sheets drying all over the place - made me not want to use mine. And it's really not suitable unless you really like cats.

Vulevity User Profile
November 2017
Near to city center, good bus connection and the pubs are excellent. Near one Sainsburý.

Hannah User Profile
October 2017
Room was clean. Amenities were good. Location is close to lots of food places and not too far to walk to shops and galleries etc.

Aurore User Profile
October 2017
The room was really good Very good communication with Joël

Martin User Profile
October 2017
Great location. Joel very helpful with clear communication. Good clean simple budget option to be in a great part of town. Local restaurant called 78 was really nice vibe for dinner and drinks. Café and bars a plenty.

Annabelle User Profile
October 2017
Very basic, lumpy mattress. Nice neighbourhood.

Glasgow, United KingdomJoined in February 2013
Joel User Profile

My name is Joel, im 36 I love travelling, I am a foodie and enjoy cultural astonishment.

Suki & Singa are my Toyger Kittens and live indoors only! Please do not let them outside under any circumstance.

You may or may not meet me at all, so please do not choose this Airbnb if your expectation is to meet the host.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings