Skip to content Airbnb
Chatting in the sunshine outside the studioThe kitchen table, at the heart of the house.
Lovely home in Newtownmountkennedy
Lovely home in Newtownmountkennedy
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our country home in the Garden of Ireland feels like the perfect retreat. Sit back in the garden, go for walks in the woods or simply relax by the fire. Quick & easy access to Dublin, the Wicklow mountains & the sea.

The space

Our house is in the very centre of Newtownmountkennedy, a small village nestled in between the Irish sea and the Wicklow mountains. With quick and easy access to Dublin via the N11 and frequent fast buses, Newtownmountkennedy is the perfect distance to travel in and out of Dublin. We are 5 minutes drive to the sea and 10 minutes drive west to the Wicklow mountains. It is a great area for cycling and walking.

Accommodation
1 Double Bedroom
1 Single Bedroom

The 2 rooms for rent have a small bathroom next to them which has a shower, washbasin and toilet. We provide clean, fresh sheets and towels. You are welcome to use our big country kitchen, sitting room and 2 bathrooms. There is access to a PC wireless internet, fax and printer. There are two gardens you can use. We have a warm wooden-floored multi-use space that you can use for yoga or other exercises.

I live here with my husband. We have 5 children who live away from home but who visit. We have a lovely, gentle dog and a cat. They mainly stay outside. My husband is the local GP in the village and I work part-time as a teacher in the local primary school.

Local Services
The house is close to Dunnes supermarket, pharmacy and bookshop. There is a hotel across the road from the house which has a restaurant and also good bar food. There are chinese & indian takeaways within 50 meters. There are also two pubs in the village, one which serves good food.

Local Area
This area is great for hiking and cycling and there are some beautiful places to visit not too far away one of them being Glendalough which is nestled in the Wicklow mountains. A monastic settlement, it has a beauty of its own with two lakes surrounded by forests and mountains.

Location/Transport
We provide private parking for guests. Newtownmountkennedy is 35k south of Dublin. Our house is in the middle of the village, 20 metres away from the bus stop. The 133 Bus Eireann takes you directly into Dublin city centre every hour. The Dublin Bus No.184 connects the village to Greystones & Bray every 30mins.
We offer breakfast in the morning, homemade brown bread, homemade scones, muesli, yoghourt, fruit, coffee/tea and juice.
On order, I can make you a packed lunch if you are going hiking for the day. This includes sandwiches made with homemade brown soda bread, a fruit and a healthy snack bar. You will also have a bottle of water. The cost is 5euro. Also, if you order the night before, I can serve you with homemade soup, homemade brown soda bread or scone, with cup of tea or coffee included, for 6euro. You can be served this as a light meal in the evening if you don't want to go out. Just let me know in advance!

Guest access

The kitchen to eat breakfast in and the sitting room to sit by wood burning stove.

Interaction with guests

We have plenty of maps here and tips on where to go for a good hike!


Amenities
Pets allowed
Internet
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in time is 5PM - 11PM
Check out by 11AM

We would prefer that the guests don't smoke indoors.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

157 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kristina User Profile
September 2014
I was looking forward to staying at Annick's house but, unfortunately, something came up and I was unable to travel. Annick was very responsive, kind and patient ( I had also requested to change my check-in date and Annick kindly accepted! ). The host was always responding to my messages in a timely manner. I'm definitely planning to stay at the listing soon!

Peter User Profile
October 2017
Fantastic host, looked after us in ex-hurricane Ophelia and made us feel welcome. Location close to great walks but we didn't have a chance to do much due to the weather. Highly recommend.
Annick User Profile
Response from Annick:
Thanks Peter and Linda, we really enjoyed meeting you both!
October 2017

Melanie User Profile
October 2017
Annick is a wonderful host. She made us feel welcome and looked after us. Communication was super and so was the delicious breakfast in her cozy kitchen. Highly recommended!!!

Sarah User Profile
September 2017
Annick and her family were very kind, giving us a warm welcome and even taking care of us when having a cold! The house is just lovely and with the very cute dog Luna and the cat Cat it kinda feels like being home.

Derek User Profile
September 2017
We stayed one night to attend a local wedding. The accommodation and continental breakfast was perfect. Annick is a great host.
Annick User Profile
Response from Annick:
Lovely to meet you both and thank you for staying with us!
September 2017

Marinda User Profile
September 2017
A lovely ' home away from home' house. Very hospitable hosts who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home with home-made baking at arrival and breakfast.
Annick User Profile
Response from Annick:
Great to meet you both!
September 2017

Bernard User Profile
August 2017
Annick was a great host - she was very helpful with early check in and direction s to the property. Her room has its own access which allows you to come and go as you please and was a lovely spacious clean room. She had left towels and chocolates on our pillow which was a nice touch. We had a good chat in the morning and a lovely breakfast. Overall a really positive experience and we would use again if staying in the area.

IrelandJoined in July 2012
Annick User Profile

I live in my listing with my husband. We have 5 other children who live away from home but who visit. We have a lovely, gentle dog and a cat. They mainly stay outside. My husband is the local GP in the village and I work part-time as a teacher in the local primary school. We enjoy hiking, cycling,reading and being with our family. We have traveled quite a bit; one of our travels was cycling from Ireland to Gibralter in southern Spain with our 5 children! We love meeting new people and hearing their stories.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings