Dear Mark, I am sorry you did not enjoy the apartment in spite of my efforts to make you feel at home, which were not answered with the kindness one would expect. We rent out a 155 square meters apartment in a central area of Livorno, which was recently refurbished and which we give for a low price, considering the size and the quality of the place.
We do our best to accommodate our guests' needs and to make sure they have a lovely stay. Just a few points:
1) We had to remove most of the pictures and rugs after many of them were damaged by some guests. We do feel, however, that a holiday house should not feel "lived in" as it in fact is not.
2) The electricity gave me some problems in the past and I did solve it. However, I have recently changed provider and apparently, because having a glass ceramic cooker is not common in Italy, they switched back to the default power allowance which is less than what they require. I have been in touch with the provider for the past couple of weeks and I am in the process of resolving the issue.
3) There are two waste bins under the sink, as I showed you during your check-in. We do provide plastic bags for the waste (again, under the sink) and you can also use any supermarket bag as in Italy there are no special bags for recycling.
4) The apartment does not have air conditioning. We are sorry that you just happened to be in Livorno in the hottest week in many years, something we cannot definitely control. However, we did provide you with multiple fans.
5) The position of the apartment is on a main road, which makes it great for those who want to travel around because of the easy access of transports and the proximity with the train station and the city center.
We are proud that most of our guests are happy, as you can see from the reviews. We really struggle hard to make everybody's stay as good as possible and we are really sorry to see such a negative attitude in you.
On a side note, you have left the apartment in a very dirty conditions after just a few days of stay, which made it very hard for our cleaning person to properly look after the apartment for the next guests.
Although we understand your frustration about the noise from the road, we definitely think (also according to most people's feedback) that your review is unnecessarily mean and does not reflect the quality of our guesthouse.