Skip to content
View down School Lane towards the 16th century, thatched pub at the end of the roadLarge double aspect sitting room with plenty of seating
Entire house

Moonfleet big house + sunny garden, ideal venue

Giles User Profile
Giles

Moonfleet big house + sunny garden, ideal venue

10 guests
5 bedrooms
10 beds
3 baths
10 guests
5 bedrooms
10 beds
3 baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Sparkling clean9 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.
Great check-in experience90% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Great location95% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.

Large double aspect lounge with dining area, 5 double bedrooms - one with en suite, (2 permanent doubles / 6 single beds or permutations thereof! ) One additional cloakroom. Large sunny south facing patio and garden. Parking off road for 2 cars., further parking space in the lane outside the house. Beach 15 minutes walk.

Amenities

Free parking on premises
Kitchen
Wifi
Indoor fireplace
TV
Washer

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
Bedroom 4
2 single beds
Bedroom 5
2 single beds

House Rules

No smoking
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM

Availability

68 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Susan User Profile
Susan
September 2018
Lovely family house, great for get togethers, within easy walking distance of the cove and a great local pub.
Nikki User Profile
Nikki
July 2018
Great place to stay and explore the area. We had both sunshine and rain during our 3 night stay but even on a rainy day had room to spread out in the house, with 4 adults , 3 teenagers and a dog. We were well looked after! Would definitely stay here again.
Antonia User Profile
Antonia
July 2018
Lovely place, great patio with a table for all and BBQ. The place was more spacious than the photos made out. The kids also loved the ‘top’ garden. I love Dorset and would definitely be keen for a return visit. We also very much enjoyed your recommendation of nepalese curry house…
Jane User Profile
Jane
July 2018
No comment
Giles User Profile
Response from Giles:
With regard to your comments please see our response below. We are keen to receive feedback and always respond to valid criticism. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite your concerns. Both my husband and I spoke to you or members of your family during the week and wish you had mentioned these points during your stay. We are only too happy to help resolve any problems. As we live so close it is easy to help if we can. Other guests have been very complimentary about the support we have offered. 1. The kitchen was basically stocked but no more. The crockery and cutlery did not match. The glasses provided did not match and there was only one full sized wine glass. I am sorry you were disappointed with the crockery and cutlery. Most of the chinaware is white and, although not an exact match, gives an overall pleasing uniform appearance. We do replace items as they are broken but cannot always replace ‘like for like’. There is an overall review and stock take at the end of the summer season, some six weeks away. However, if guests tell us they have broken or mislaid something we endeavour to replace those items during their stay. As you will appreciated we are half an hour away from larger shopping centres. The previous occupants had broken some items and these have been replaced. Unfortunately we had been away ourselves and did not have a chance to assess damage before you arrived. We feel there were sufficient glasses -12 assorted champagne glasses, 9 wine goblets and 5 white wine glasses, (a number had been broken) 14 small juice glasses and 8 soda glasses supplemented by 4 tall tumblers (due to recent breakages). We will review the cutlery situation shortly. If you have any specific suggestions about additional equipment that you thought was required please let us know. Sometimes we do not realise that something is missing or broken until just before people arrive, as happened with your visit. In these circumstances we try to provide a replacement from our own home or from a local supplier as soon as is possible. Clearly our substitutes were not adequate. 2. The Fridge/ freezer was inadequate for ten adults. During our recent refurbishment of the kitchen, we chose not to have a big American style fridge/freezer for a number of reasons. Over the past 9 years we have found that most of our guests use local restaurants, cafes, shops, and supermarkets. Some have more than one supermarket delivery during their stay and do not need any further space. Furthermore, Moonfleet does not always have with 10 adults visiting. The number of guests varies from 2 -1 0. I believe you enquired about the size of the fridge/freezer and that my husband pointed out which local supermarkets deliver to West Lulworth four weeks ago. Nonetheless your comment is helpful and this is something that we will make clear on the information mention on the website. i.e. that it is a normal domestic fridge freezer (70/30 split). 3. The Dining room table was not big enough to comfortably seat 10 adults. On the day we sat ten at the table we had to rely on bedroom chairs that due to the lack of bedroom furniture were already in use. Whilst the table was designed for 8 adults, there is other furniturethat can be used. The two chairs in the kitchen would have provided seating for 8 guests, the number in your party. In addition there are two other tables, a gate leg table next to the large dining table and a round table in the kitchen. These can be used separately or joined on to the main table. Other visitors have made good use of these tables if they invite friends to join them, which of course then exceeds 10 guests. Also many guests tell us that they feed their children earlier and enjoy an adult supper at a later time of day. We will consider whether we need to buy some more chairs so that the chairs from the bedroom do not need to be used for both purposes. 4. The standard of bedding and towels was basic. Our towels and bedding are from Marks and Spencer or John Lewis. Apologies if this did not meet your standards. All bedding and towels, bath mats etc. are sent away for washing and ironing to a local laundry after each occupancy. We have had to replace these items when people have used them inappropriately e.g. hair dying, spilling coffee/tea/wine or even on one occasion footmarks/shoe polish! It has been impossible to provide exactly the same bedding for each room when a range is discontinued. 5. There was insufficient patio furniture to match the house occupancy of which some was broken. We raised it with you and you suggested new furniture was due mid our stay but this did not materialise. Two broken chairs prior to our arrival were stored in one corner of the patio We do apologise for the lack of garden furniture, as we explained we had been expecting brand new patio furniture the week before you arrived. This had been ordered on the 17th June. We were told by the furniture manufacturers that it would be arriving on the 23rd June, this did not happen and then we were given another date which would been during your stay. We have taken this up with Trading Standards and Citizens’ Advice Bureau are planning to make a claim as the company has breached their contract. However today, 10th July, our new furniture has arrived today, three weeks and two days after it was ordered. The broken furniture has now been removed. We had been away and had not been able to arrange for it to be disposed of by a third party during our absence. Again if you had asked we would have moved it even further away from the general patio area. It was stored in an area that is a ‘no go’ area for guests. 6. The patio area was in a general poor state of cleanliness on our arrival. There was in particular a large amount of wood shavings that had not been cleared up. We apologise for this debris, the majority of the wood sawdust (from installing the new cloakroom) had been cleared. However it should not have been left with even minimal dust/leaves etc. Had you asked we would have come and removed it. We did not like to ask to do that whilst you were in residence as the blower is fairly noisy and we were aware that you had small children with you. Recently there has been a lot of debris from trees and plants which also settle in the gaps in the paving slabs. i.e parts of leaves, flower petals etc. 7. A dismantled shed was left on the patio, an eyesore but more importantly a considerable safety threat should it have fallen on any of our party particularly the children. Again, apologies for this, the wood shed is to be moved in the near future. We did not consider it a Health and Safety risk where it was stored in a corner of a large patio; it had been stacked so it was not possible for it to fall unless someone climbed on it. 8. Items stated in the inventory to be included were not: e.g. soap and toilet rolls. We requested them and they were provided in a rather mean state. There were soaps at each basin, hand wash by the kitchen sink and at least two toilet rolls for each lavatory left for you, according to the temporary cleaner. The new requirement by Airbnb to provide such items for the whole week took effect from 1st July). We were unaware of this new ruling as Air B & B had not told us. As a rule we generally give people a starter pack, which includes milk, local biscuits, tea, coffee sugar, herbs etc. (None of which is required by Airbnb) 9. a)The property was not fully clean on our arrival and during our stay three items were found that did not belong to us, which you kindly emailed me about. This would indicate a deep clean was not done prior to our arrival. Our usual cleaner was unwell and we had to use another local cleaner who was obviously not as thorough as our usual lady. There is a short turnaround between 10 am* and 3 pm* to clean the whole house, strip and make beds, attend to any urgent matters e.g. minor repairs/garden items. We had been away on holiday and usually double check the standard of cleanliness. Apologies that on this occasion this did not happen. *Obviously you arrived earlier and left later than the norm as a gesture of goodwill. b) The wardrobe in the middle bedroom on the ground floor was untidy and full of board games. For our guests to use it they would have had to tidy it first. As a consequence clothes were stored on the floor and windowsill for a week. The board games are greatly appreciated by other guests. We will review the storage arrangements, they usually take up two of four shelves. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; again because we were not there this escaped our notice. There was sufficient hanging space in the larger section of the wardrobe. c) That room and others including the bathroom contained quite a large number of old cobwebs. See above re temporary cleaner and our absence. It has been a busy year for spiders! 10. There was noise from a neighbouring property from human beings and dogs which we are anxious not to be held responsible for. We would have taken immediate action if you had told us about this problem. The house is in a residential area so some noise from neighbours is inevitable. 11. The photographs on the web site were somewhat misleading particularly with a view to the outside furniture and barbecues. This has been resolved. We had to discard the second barbecue as it had been left in such a bad state by previous occupants. We agree that more photos are needed to show the new, third WC on the ground floor and our new garden table, chairs and bench. (Over £1200’s worth of replacement garden furniture) 12. In searching for a suitable property we had chosen Moonfleet because it appeared to be a well presented property and we had paid the not inconsiderable price accordingly. The price we received for your stay was £1903.90, (Airbnb deducted £71.10) We understand that clients pay a service charge, not certain how much this is. However this equates to £35 per person per night plus the service charge ( based on 8 adults + 1 child, ignoring infants and 3 dogs ). Considerably less than many local B & B/pub rates which gives just one room and cannot always take large parties. At Moonfleet guests have a full house , sunny patio and garden to use. Most B & B’s won’t take dogs. Obviously the house has plenty of space for families, something commented on and welcomed by previous guests. Some holiday homes also charge for dogs: we are considering whether we should introduce this additional charge. We thank you for vacuuming before you left and removing dog mess from the garden. Not all of our guests do so. Nonetheless we were surprised that you had not mentioned that you were bringing three dogs during the considerable correspondence since you booked in February. We only allow two dogs. Our house rules stipulate that dogs must not be left alone in the house as we have had problems with dogs being distressed and barking whilst left, disturbing the neighbours. Whilst we understand that the weather conditions meant taking dogs out in the heat was not advisable, nonetheless it would have been polite to ask if we were happy for all three dogs to be left alone. Indeed we could have let them out into the garden for you. For clarification, the TV remote control which was missing after your stay, was found very far down the side of the sofa, which is a fire risk. The patio door seems to be damaged, we are now having this fixed. It would have been helpful to tell us about this so that we could arrange for a repair to be done before the next guests arrive. We would like to stress that usually Moonfleet is prepared to exacting standards. Our Visitors’ Book is full of complimentary comments. Many guests return, some each year. Obviously we did not get it right this time for you. We can only apologise. Yours sincerely, Susan Marsh With regard to your comments please see our response below. We are keen to receive feedback and always respond to valid criticism. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite your concerns. Both my husband and I spoke to you or members of your family during the week and wish you had mentioned these points during your stay. We are only too happy to help resolve any problems. As we live so close it is easy to help if we can. Other guests have been very complimentary about the support we have offered. 1. The kitchen was basically stocked but no more. The crockery and cutlery did not match. The glasses provided did not match and there was only one full sized wine glass. I am sorry you were disappointed with the crockery and cutlery. Most of the chinaware is white and, although not an exact match, gives an overall pleasing uniform appearance. We do replace items as they are broken but cannot always replace ‘like for like’. There is an overall review and stock take at the end of the summer season, some six weeks away. However, if guests tell us they have broken or mislaid something we endeavour to replace those items during their stay. As you will appreciated we are half an hour away from larger shopping centres. The previous occupants had broken some items and these have been replaced. Unfortunately we have been away ourselves and did not have a chance to assess damage before you arrived. We feel there were sufficient glasses -12 assorted champagne glasses, 9 wine goblets and 5 white wine glasses, (a number had been broken) 14 small juice glasses and 8 soda glasses supplemented by 4 tall tumblers (due to recent breakages). We will review the cutlery situation shortly. If you have any specific suggestions about additional equipment that you thought was required please let us know. Sometimes we do not realise that something is missing or broken until just before people arrive, as happened with your visit. In these circumstances we try to provide a replacement from our own home or from a local supplier as soon as is possible. Clearly our substitutes were not adequate. 2. The Fridge/ freezer was inadequate for ten adults. During our recent refurbishment of the kitchen, we chose not to have a big American style fridge/freezer for a number of reasons. Over the past 9 years we have found that most of our guests use local restaurants and shops, and/or have more than one delivery during their stay and do not need any further space. Furthermore, Moonfleet does not always have with 10 adults visiting. The number of guests varies from 2 -1 0. I believe you enquired about the size of the fridge/freezer and that my husband pointed out which local supermarkets deliver to West Lulworth four weeks ago. Nonetheless your comment is helpful and this is something that we will make clear on the information mention on the website. i.e. that it is a normal domestic fridge freezer (70/30 split). 3. The Dining room table was not big enough to comfortably seat 10 adults. On the day we sat ten at the table we had to rely on bedroom chairs that due to the lack of bedroom furniture were already in use. Whilst the table was designed for 8 adults, there are two additional tables that can be used. The two chairs in the kitchen would have provided seating for 8 guests, the number in your party. In addition there are two other tables, a gate leg table next to the large dining table and a round table in the kitchen. These can be used separately or joined on to the main table. Other visitors have made good use of these tables if they invite friends to join them, which of course then exceeds 10 guests. Also many guests tell us that they feed their children earlier and enjoy an adult supper at a later time of day. We will consider whether we need to buy some more chairs so that the chairs from the bedroom do not need to be used for both purposes. 4. The standard of bedding and towels was basic. Our towels and bedding are from Marks and Spencer or John Lewis. Apologies if this did not meet your standards. It is not a luxury hotel. All bedding and towels, bath mats etc. are sent away for washing and ironing to a local laundry after each occupancy. We have had to replace these items when people have used them inappropriately e.g. hair dying, spilling coffee/tea/wine or even on one occasion footmarks/shoe polish! It has been impossible to provide exactly the same bedding for each room when a range is discontinued. 5. There was insufficient patio furniture to match the house occupancy of which some was broken. We raised it with you and you suggested new furniture was due mid our stay but this did not materialise. Two broken chairs prior to our arrival were stored in one corner of the patio We do apologise for the lack of garden furniture, as we explained we had been expecting brand new patio furniture the week before you arrived. This had been ordered on the 17th June. We were told by the furniture manufacturers that it would be arriving on the 23rd June, this did not happen and then we were given another date which would been during your stay. We have taken this up with Trading Standards and Citizens’ Advice Bureau are planning to make a claim as the company has breached their contract. However today, 10th July, our new furniture has arrived today, three weeks and two days after it was ordered. The broken furniture has now been removed. We had been away and had not been able to arrange for it to be disposed of by a third party during our absence. Again if you had asked we would have moved it even further away from the general patio area. It was stored in an area that is a ‘no go’ area for guests. 6. The patio area was in a general poor state of cleanliness on our arrival. There was in particular a large amount of wood shavings that had not been cleared up. We apologise for this debris, the majority of the wood sawdust had been cleared. However it should not have been left with even minimal dust/leaves etc. Had you asked we would have come and removed it. We did not like to ask to do that whilst you were in residence as the blower is fairly noisy and we were aware that you had small children with you. Recently there has been a lot of debris from trees and plants which also settle in the gaps in the paving slabs. i.e parts of leaves, flower petals etc. 7. A dismantled shed was left on the patio, an eyesore but more importantly a considerable safety threat should it have fallen on any of our party particularly the children. Again, apologies for this, the wood shed is to be moved in the near future. We did not consider it a Health and Safety risk where it was stored in a corner of a large patio; it had been stacked so it was not possible for it to fall unless someone climbed on it. 8. Items stated in the inventory to be included were not: e.g. soap and toilet rolls. We requested them and they were provided in a rather mean state. There were soaps at each basin, hand wash by the kitchen sink and at least two toilet rolls for each lavatory left for you, according to the temporary cleaner. The new requirement by Airbnb to provide such items for the whole week took effect from 1st July). We were unaware of this new ruling as Air B & B had not bothered to tell us. As a rule we generally give people a starter pack, which includes milk, local biscuits, tea, coffee sugar, herbs etc. (None of which is required by Airbnb) 9. a)The property was not fully clean on our arrival and during our stay three items were found that did not belong to us, which you kindly emailed me about. This would indicate a deep clean was not done prior to our arrival. Our usual cleaner was unwell and we had to use another local cleaner who was obviously not as thorough as our usual lady. There is a short turnaround between 10 am* and 3 pm* to clean the whole house, strip and make beds, attend to any urgent matters e.g. minor repairs/garden items. We had been away on holiday and usually double check the standard of cleanliness. Apologies that on this occasion this did not happen. *Obviously you arrived earlier and left later than the norm as a gesture of goodwill. b) The wardrobe in the middle bedroom on the ground floor was untidy and full of board games. For our guests to use it they would have had to tidy it first. As a consequence clothes were stored on the floor and windowsill for a week. The board games are greatly appreciated by other guests. We will review the storage arrangements, they usually take up just two shelves. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; again because we were not there this escaped our notice. There was sufficient hanging space in the larger section of the wardrobe. c) That room and others including the bathroom contained quite a large number of old cobwebs. See above re temporary cleaner and our absence. It has been a busy year for spiders! 10. There was noise from a neighbouring property from human beings and dogs which we are anxious not to be held responsible for. We would have taken immediate action if you had told us about this problem. The house is in a residential area so some noise from neighbours is inevitable. 11. The photographs on the web site were somewhat misleading particularly with a view to the outside furniture and barbecues. We hope this will be resolved shortly. We had to discard the second barbecue as it had been left in such a bad state by previous occupants. We agree that more photos are needed to show the new, third WC on the ground floor and our new garden table, chairs and bench. (Over £1200’s worth of replacement garden furniture) 12. In searching for a suitable property we had chosen Moonfleet because it appeared to be a well presented property and we had paid the not inconsiderable price accordingly. The price we received for your stay was £1903.90, (Airbnb deducted £71.10) We understand that clients pay a service charge, not certain how much this is. However this equates to £35 per person per night plus the service charge ( based on 8 adults + 1 child, ignoring infants and 3 dogs ). Considerably less than many local B & B/pub rates which gives just one room. Guests have a full house and garden to use. Most B & B’s won’t take dogs. Obviously the house has plenty of space for families, something commented on and welcomed by previous guests. Some holiday homes also charge for dogs: we are considering whether we should introduce this additional charge. We thank you for vacuuming before you left and removing dog mess from the garden. Not all of our guests do so. Nonetheless we were surprised that you had not mentioned that you were bringing three dogs during the considerable correspondence since you booked in February. We only allow two dogs. Our house rules stipulate that dogs must not be left alone in the house as we have had problems with dogs being distressed and barking whilst left, disturbing the neighbours. Whilst we understand that the weather conditions meant taking dogs out in the heat was not advisable, nonetheless it would have been polite to have asked us if we were happy for all three dogs to be left alone. Indeed we could have let them out into the garden for you. For clarification, the TV remote control was found deep down the side of the sofa, which is a fire risk. The patio door seems to be damaged, we are now having this fixed. It would have been helpful to tell us about this so that we could arrange for a repair to be done before the next guests arrive. We would like to stress that usually Moonfleet is prepared to exacting standards. Our Visitors’ Book is full of complimentary comments. Many guests return, some each year. Obviously we did not get it right this time for you. We can only apologise. Yours sincerely, Susan Marsh With regard to your comments please see our response below. We are keen to receive feedback and always respond to valid criticism. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite your concerns. Both my husband and I spoke to you or members of your family during the week and wish you had mentioned these points during your stay. We are only too happy to help resolve any problems. As we live so close it is easy to help if we can. Other guests have been very complimentary about the support we have offered. 1. The kitchen was basically stocked but no more. The crockery and cutlery did not match. The glasses provided did not match and there was only one full sized wine glass. I am sorry you were disappointed with the crockery and cutlery. Most of the chinaware is white and, although not an exact match, gives an overall pleasing uniform appearance. We do replace items as they are broken but cannot always replace ‘like for like’. There is an overall review and stock take at the end of the summer season, some six weeks away. However, if guests tell us they have broken or mislaid something we endeavour to replace those items during their stay. As you will appreciated we are half an hour away from larger shopping centres. The previous occupants had broken some items and these have been replaced. Unfortunately we have been away ourselves and did not have a chance to assess damage before you arrived. We feel there were sufficient glasses -12 assorted champagne glasses, 9 wine goblets and 5 white wine glasses, (a number had been broken) 14 small juice glasses and 8 soda glasses supplemented by 4 tall tumblers (due to recent breakages). We will review the cutlery situation shortly. If you have any specific suggestions about additional equipment that you thought was required please let us know. Sometimes we do not realise that something is missing or broken until just before people arrive, as happened with your visit. In these circumstances we try to provide a replacement from our own home or from a local supplier as soon as is possible. Clearly our substitutes were not adequate. 2. The Fridge/ freezer was inadequate for ten adults. During our recent refurbishment of the kitchen, we chose not to have a big American style fridge/freezer for a number of reasons. Over the past 9 years we have found that most of our guests use local restaurants and shops, and/or have more than one delivery during their stay and do not need any further space. Furthermore, Moonfleet does not always have with 10 adults visiting. The number of guests varies from 2 -1 0. I believe you enquired about the size of the fridge/freezer and that my husband pointed out which local supermarkets deliver to West Lulworth four weeks ago. Nonetheless your comment is helpful and this is something that we will make clear on the information mention on the website. i.e. that it is a normal domestic fridge freezer (70/30 split). 3. The Dining room table was not big enough to comfortably seat 10 adults. On the day we sat ten at the table we had to rely on bedroom chairs that due to the lack of bedroom furniture were already in use. Whilst the table was designed for 8 adults, there are two additional tables that can be used. The two chairs in the kitchen would have provided seating for 8 guests, the number in your party. In addition there are two other tables, a gate leg table next to the large dining table and a round table in the kitchen. These can be used separately or joined on to the main table. Other visitors have made good use of these tables if they invite friends to join them, which of course then exceeds 10 guests. Also many guests tell us that they feed their children earlier and enjoy an adult supper at a later time of day. We will consider whether we need to buy some more chairs so that the chairs from the bedroom do not need to be used for both purposes. 4. The standard of bedding and towels was basic. Our towels and bedding are from Marks and Spencer or John Lewis. Apologies if this did not meet your standards. It is not a luxury hotel. All bedding and towels, bath mats etc. are sent away for washing and ironing to a local laundry after each occupancy. We have had to replace these items when people have used them inappropriately e.g. hair dying, spilling coffee/tea/wine or even on one occasion footmarks/shoe polish! It has been impossible to provide exactly the same bedding for each room when a range is discontinued. 5. There was insufficient patio furniture to match the house occupancy of which some was broken. We raised it with you and you suggested new furniture was due mid our stay but this did not materialise. Two broken chairs prior to our arrival were stored in one corner of the patio We do apologise for the lack of garden furniture, as we explained we had been expecting brand new patio furniture the week before you arrived. This had been ordered on the 17th June. We were told by the furniture manufacturers that it would be arriving on the 23rd June, this did not happen and then we were given another date which would been during your stay. We have taken this up with Trading Standards and Citizens’ Advice Bureau are planning to make a claim as the company has breached their contract. However today, 10th July, our new furniture has arrived today, three weeks and two days after it was ordered. The broken furniture has now been removed. We had been away and had not been able to arrange for it to be disposed of by a third party during our absence. Again if you had asked we would have moved it even further away from the general patio area. It was stored in an area that is a ‘no go’ area for guests. 6. The patio area was in a general poor state of cleanliness on our arrival. There was in particular a large amount of wood shavings that had not been cleared up. We apologise for this debris, the majority of the wood sawdust had been cleared. However it should not have been left with even minimal dust/leaves etc. Had you asked we would have come and removed it. We did not like to ask to do that whilst you were in residence as the blower is fairly noisy and we were aware that you had small children with you. Recently there has been a lot of debris from trees and plants which also settle in the gaps in the paving slabs. i.e parts of leaves, flower petals etc. 7. A dismantled shed was left on the patio, an eyesore but more importantly a considerable safety threat should it have fallen on any of our party particularly the children. Again, apologies for this, the wood shed is to be moved in the near future. We did not consider it a Health and Safety risk where it was stored in a corner of a large patio; it had been stacked so it was not possible for it to fall unless someone climbed on it. 8. Items stated in the inventory to be included were not: e.g. soap and toilet rolls. We requested them and they were provided in a rather mean state. There were soaps at each basin, hand wash by the kitchen sink and at least two toilet rolls for each lavatory left for you, according to the temporary cleaner. The new requirement by Airbnb to provide such items for the whole week took effect from 1st July). We were unaware of this new ruling as Air B & B had not bothered to tell us. As a rule we generally give people a starter pack, which includes milk, local biscuits, tea, coffee sugar, herbs etc. (None of which is required by Airbnb) 9. a)The property was not fully clean on our arrival and during our stay three items were found that did not belong to us, which you kindly emailed me about. This would indicate a deep clean was not done prior to our arrival. Our usual cleaner was unwell and we had to use another local cleaner who was obviously not as thorough as our usual lady. There is a short turnaround between 10 am* and 3 pm* to clean the whole house, strip and make beds, attend to any urgent matters e.g. minor repairs/garden items. We had been away on holiday and usually double check the standard of cleanliness. Apologies that on this occasion this did not happen. *Obviously you arrived earlier and left later than the norm as a gesture of goodwill. b) The wardrobe in the middle bedroom on the ground floor was untidy and full of board games. For our guests to use it they would have had to tidy it first. As a consequence clothes were stored on the floor and windowsill for a week. The board games are greatly appreciated by other guests. We will review the storage arrangements, they usually take up just two shelves. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; again because we were not there this escaped our notice. There was sufficient hanging space in the larger section of the wardrobe. c) That room and others including the bathroom contained quite a large number of old cobwebs. See above re temporary cleaner and our absence. It has been a busy year for spiders! 10. There was noise from a neighbouring property from human beings and dogs which we are anxious not to be held responsible for. We would have taken immediate action if you had told us about this problem. The house is in a residential area so some noise from neighbours is inevitable. 11. The photographs on the web site were somewhat misleading particularly with a view to the outside furniture and barbecues. We hope this will be resolved shortly. We had to discard the second barbecue as it had been left in such a bad state by previous occupants. We agree that more photos are needed to show the new, third WC on the ground floor and our new garden table, chairs and bench. (Over £1200’s worth of replacement garden furniture) 12. In searching for a suitable property we had chosen Moonfleet because it appeared to be a well presented property and we had paid the not inconsiderable price accordingly. The price we received for your stay was £1903.90, (Airbnb deducted £71.10) We understand that clients pay a service charge, not certain how much this is. However this equates to £35 per person per night plus the service charge ( based on 8 adults + 1 child, ignoring infants and 3 dogs ). Considerably less than many local B & B/pub rates which gives just one room. Guests have a full house and garden to use. Most B & B’s won’t take dogs. Obviously the house has plenty of space for families, something commented on and welcomed by previous guests. Some holiday homes also charge for dogs: we are considering whether we should introduce this additional charge. We thank you for vacuuming before you left and removing dog mess from the garden. Not all of our guests do so. Nonetheless we were surprised that you had not mentioned that you were bringing three dogs during the considerable correspondence since you booked in February. We only allow two dogs. Our house rules stipulate that dogs must not be left alone in the house as we have had problems with dogs being distressed and barking whilst left, disturbing the neighbours. Whilst we understand that the weather conditions meant taking dogs out in the heat was not advisable, nonetheless it would have been polite to have asked us if we were happy for all three dogs to be left alone. Indeed we could have let them out into the garden for you. For clarification, the TV remote control was found deep down the side of the sofa, which is a fire risk. The patio door seems to be damaged, we are now having this fixed. It would have been helpful to tell us about this so that we could arrange for a repair to be done before the next guests arrive. We would like to stress that usually Moonfleet is prepared to exacting standards. Our Visitors’ Book is full of complimentary comments. Many guests return, some each year. Obviously we did not get it right this time for you. We can only apologise. Yours sincerely, Susan Marsh
July 2018
Casey User Profile
Casey
June 2018
Great property and very accommodating host, thanks Giles
Laura User Profile
Laura
May 2018
A spacious house in a great location - perfect for 10 adults, 3 babies and a dog! Clean and well equipped with wonderful outdoor seating area and BBQ. Giles was very helpful before our arrival and during our stay. Would love to come back one day.
Natalie User Profile
Natalie
May 2018
Fantastic location Host Giles was so helpful and friendly. House was clean and beds very comfortable! Good size, bigger than the pictures show! Garden was the highlight for us. Fantastic. Thanks Giles and Susan!

Hosted by Giles

Joined in July 2015
Giles User Profile
70 Reviews
Giles is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings